What’s all the buzz about Pinterest | How to use Pinterest


Pinterest Logo

I’m sure by now you have been hearing about the new platform Pinterest. I’ll admit I haven’t started “pinning” yet.  I mean  Pinterest soft launched about  two years ago but joining is by invitation only. I do follow them on Twitter, so that allows me to see whats going on and how things are developing. There are of course early adapters who are on the Pinterest craze since the soft launch. I heard about Pinterest maybe a month or two ago, and from what I was reading and hearing I knew it would be a matter of time before it spread like wildfire. This week alone I have received email after email trying to teach me how to use Pinterest, telling me what Pinterest is about, and even  an invitation to check out a webinar to see how others are using Pinterest.  This is why its important to read the trade publications that way you can be kept abreast the ever changing industry and social landscape.

I’m thinking its time I send out for an invitation, don’t you? Though a part of my brain is scream “no another social media platform.” But this means this is another medium that I can bring to clients or potential clients and teach them how to use.  When new media emerges it doest hurt to learn about them to see how they can be beneficial. I also read that Pinterest can boost your SEO, that further peaked my interest.  I do suggest that you take the time to check the site and see what all the hype is about  before committing to a new social media platform.

A few helpful tips 

“Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web.  Browsing pin boards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests.” -Pinterest

Top interests on Pinterest in the U.S.: crafts, gifts, hobbies/leisure, interior design, fashion designers/collections. (via Ragan.com)

“Pinterest is designed to curate and share things you love. If there is a photo or project your proud of, pin away! However, try not to use Pinterest purely as a tool for self-promotion.” -Pinterest

According to comScore (via TechCrunch), the average Pinterest user spends 98 minutes per month on the site, compared to 2.5 hours on Tumblr, and seven hours on Facebook.

If you’re looking for the ultimate Pinterest guide check out this SlideShare link http://slidesha.re/zCRuAB

Will you be “pinning” anytime soon? Are you already on Pinterest, what do you love about it?

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

About the Author

Sandra Florent is the entertainment and non-profit publicist behind Solo Dove Public Relations. Based in New Jersey Solo Dove Public Relations provides personalized publicity, public relations, consulting, and event planning services to clients in their area of expertise. Sandra is also a media enthusiast and hard-core networker. Twitter.com/solodovepr Tumblr: solodovepr.tumblr.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

