Black History Month | Speaking at my Alma Mater Fairleigh Dickinson University


This week I sat on the panel for the second annual Black History Month event at my Alma Mater Fairleigh Dickinson University. This was my second time takin part in the event and I was happy to be back and offer some of the knowledge that I gained since graduating and becoming an entrepreneur. I has excited to learn that Elaine Meryl Brown would be on the panel as well. She is the co-author of the book The Little Black Book of Success Laws of Leadership for Black Women. As you remember I did a review of the book many months ago.

20120224-134953.jpg
The panelist

20120224-135001.jpg

20120224-135013.jpg

The event was put together by the Student Programming Board, so kudos to them for thinking of a way to further inform and engage the student population at FDU.

20120224-135253.jpg

The students were able to ask us questions and learn the back story of how we got to where we are today. Though I will say and did say I am still a work in progress, there is still work to be done and much to accomplish.

One of the preselected questions that we were asked that stuck out to me was “what is the single thing that you have learned that’s helped you to this point?” No one on the panel including myself could pin point a single thing but a series of experiences that lead us to where we are. But one thing that is a recurring theme for me is patience. Patience is not a virtue of mine but it’s something that I am learning and will in turn help me in business and in life.

I hope someone took away some good insight from what I had to say. Even though I was there to speak I took away some good advice from the panelist and students. Learning never stops.

Happy Flying,
~Solo Dove~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

