Joining a professional organization, is it worth it?


Professional organizations, yay or nay?

Last week, I attended my first meeting for the Young Executives Committee a sub group of the Advertising Women of New York (AWNY).  The first meeting of the year was held in the evening which allowed myself and others the chance to attend.  Since I pay dues for this organization I want to be involved, get my monies worth so to speak. Attending the meeting allowed me the chance to meet other ladies in the committee, learn more about what they do, network, and find areas where I may want to help out.

After the meeting I took one of those long NYC walks that you see in the movies to think. One of the many thoughts that flowed through my mind was about  joining professionals organizations.

Lets see, I belong to NJ Young Professionals, AWNY,  Entertainment Publicists Professional Society (EPPS), Women Entertainment Empowerment Network (WEEN), Black Public Relations Society….

Then you have your meet up professional networking groups like Color Bars, JI Group, Media Buzz, Women 2.0, Digital Divas, Ten Project. I’m sure there are more but these are the ones that I attend on a more regular basis.

So as you can see for me I see the value in being a part of professional organizations because I get a return in the time that I put in.

With AWNY I have also signed up for the mentorship program that they have. That is another benefit that I am getting from joining the organization. With EPPS they have panels where you can meet media professionals and learn how to pitch them.  Color Bars deals with minorities in the media and communications field. There is a wealth of knowledge out there, if you make the effort to learn more it will not only be beneficial to you professionally but it can also improve your social life.

For me I think you should join at least one professional organization and commit to being an active member.  Your organization can be industry specific (PR, marketing, journalism, law) or you can look outside of your industry for a organization that peaks your interest.

Public relations is about building relationships, by joining a professional organization with like-minded individuals your likelihood of building these relationship increases. You might also learn a thing or two.  What organizations do you belong too?  What organization do you really want to join? Tell me.

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

About the Author

Sandra Florent is the entertainment and non-profit publicist behind Solo Dove Public Relations. Based in New Jersey Solo Dove Public Relations provides personalized publicity, public relations, consulting, and event planning services to clients in their area of expertise. Sandra is also a media enthusiast and hard-core networker. Twitter.com/solodovepr Tumblr: solodovepr.tumblr.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

