Networking Adventures| Cocktails with Belle‏ at Ink 48


I attended the lovely Cocktails with Belle  event held on the rooftop of Ink 48. The Cocktails with Belle event was hosted by Demetria Lucas creator of the blog “A Belle in Brooklyn”. This event served as a pre release party for her book A Belle in Brooklyn:  The Go-to-Girl for Advice on Living Your Best Single Life, as well as a networking event for this ladies only crowd. 

First, I must say the venue was beautiful. It was the perfect spring evening great view of the city. I have to return when summer is in full swing. Being that this was my first Belle event I was little intimated. Everyone seemed to know each other. So I had to scan the room see if I knew any familiar faces. I even had a chance to speak with Radio and TV personality, Egypt Sherrod who I have met of a few occasions. She is really a sweet person. I did make it a point to go introduce myself to Ms. Lucas and hand her a business card.

I have to say going to networking events solo can be a bit intimidating so I try to give myself little pep talks to calm my nerves. The event went on without a hitch.  I met some new ladies from various industries, which I liked. Most events often have a dominate industry represented either media, or IT, or finance. This event provided a good blend of women.  I did speak to some familiar faces that I new which is always good to catch up and be introduced to their friends.

I also played the role of connector for one of my new-found friends from the evening. introducing her to some people who I thought she would benefit from knowing. I think I helped make some good connections.

All and all it was a fun night, though I don’t really do the advice book thing I may actually pick up Ms. Lucas’ book. I encourage everyone to get out this Spring/Summer and network. Make new friends, new connections, find new venues.

Check out more  pictures from the event  http://www.abelleinbrooklyn.com/gallery/

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

About the Author

Sandra Florent is the entertainment and non-profit publicist behind Solo Dove Public Relations. Based in New Jersey Solo Dove Public Relations provides personalized publicity, public relations, consulting, and event planning services to clients in their area of expertise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

