{Crisis Communications 101} If you can manage crack socially then go for it -Charlie Sheen


Charlie Sheens PR team and management team must live in constant Crisis PR mode as of late. He’s most recent interview can be used as a teaching moment. Yes we know celebrities and clients are people and you can’t control them but when you are in the public eye  you represent your brand. Charlie Sheen is known to have a drug problem and to promote social drug use is a problem. Irresponsible even. These are the words of an addict.  It will be interesting to see how his team works out this latest mishap. Maybe he will do another in home rehab stint.

Two things about the interview that we most striking to me are

#1

Charlie Sheen explains how he came up with his speech for the UCLA baseball team:

“I realized what props I was holding. I had a bottle of chocolate milk and I had rumors that I’ve had problems with, I don’t know, crack, and it just came out of me like poetry, Dan. Like poetry… Thank God, [the coach] told me to tell them congrats in the World Series last year. I wasn’t watching a lot of that, you know, at the time. So I walked over and said, ‘Hey guys, congrats on the World Series last year.’ So, he gave me my first line. Which is good, a good place to start, right? Well, people kind of know I’ve had some problems lately and I’m sort of notorious for sort of surfacing and going deep undercover, deep under-ground. So, I said stay away from the crack, which I think is a pretty good advice unless, you can manage it socially, Dan. If you can manage it socially, then go for it, but not a lot of people can.”

Charlie Sheen on whether or not he thought he could manage crack socially or not:

“Well, yeah, but that kinda blew up in my face… like an exploding crack pipe, Dan. Sorry”

#2  Charlie Sheen on what is happening with Two and a Half Men:

“We are on forced hiatus. They said, ‘You get ready and we’ll get ready.’ And I got ready and went back and nobody’s there. I don’t know what to tell you, Dan. Nobody is there… I don’t know what to tell you, man. I’m here and I’m ready. They’re not. Bring it, you know?”

Here are the video links from the interview.

http://thefutoncritic.com/video/2011/02/14/video-charlie-sheen-talks-to-dan-patrick-on-directvs-the-dan-patrick-show-327114/20110214directv01/

http://thefutoncritic.com/video/2011/02/14/video-charlie-sheen-talks-to-dan-patrick-on-directvs-the-dan-patrick-show-327114/20110214directv01/ 

You can Read more: Video: Charlie Sheen Talks To Dan Patrick on DirecTV’s “The Dan Patrick Show” | TheFutonCritic.com http://thefutoncritic.com/video/2011/02/14/video-charlie-sheen-talks-to-dan-patrick-on-directvs-the-dan-patrick-show-327114/20110214directv01/#ixzz1E30fNfo0

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

Leave a Reply

