The Beat of My Heart is Crying Z Phi B | Why I wanted to be a Zeta


Today marks the 91st Founder’s Days [in my biased opinion] of the greatest sorority ever created  Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. which was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. on this day in  1920. I salute our Five Pearls

Most Honorable Founding Soror Arizona Leedonia Cleaver Stemons

Most Honorable Founding Soror Pearl Anna Neal

Most Honorable Founding Soror Fannie Pettie Watts

Most Honorable Founding Soror Myrtle Tyler Faithful

Most Honorable Founding Soror Viola Tyler Goings

I became a Zeta because their ideals spoke to me. Spoke to what I wanted to be.  The ideals of   finer womanhood, scholarship, sisterly love, and service are what Zeta Phi Beta stands for and what I wanted to embody. I studied Zeta like it was final exam because this was something not to be taken lightly. I would be a Zeta forever.  From my days as an auxiliary member of the Zeta Archonettes we were  always reminded by our advisor that “We didn’t spend all this time learning about Blue and White to go off to Pink and Green or Red And White ” [i.e. other sororities] I could have gone to another sorority upon entering college but I knew they weren’t for me.  The Zetas that I met really seems to like each other, they did programs, they knew how to have fun, and they were down to earth. I knew I was making the right choice.

On March 13,2005 [6:12:24] I became a member of the Blazing Blazing Blazing Beta Nu Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. From then on I continued the work of Zeta. From being chapter president for 2 years, I was a chapter of ONE. Through this I still prevailed winning awards, putting on programs, the works. A year later I was award the undergraduate of the year award. This was another proud moment in Zeta for me, my work was being recognized. I became a Zeta to help further the cause.

Its a hard road searching for Phi Beta its a hard road to ZetaLand

My ultimate goal is to be a famous Zeta.  I know it may sound crazy but  that is something that I want and work towards. Just like Sorors who have accomplished so much before me I want to do something that will show Zeta Women get things done.

I had this shirt made. It is my favorite Zeta quote!

 

To all of my Sorors I wish you all a Happy Founders Day. Let us continue the work our 5 Pearls started!

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

A trip down memory lane Zeta Style

Strangers we entered, Friends we became, Sorors of Zeta Phi Beta we remain

Me and my SPECial (great minds think alike)

 

Beta Nu chapter representing. Founders Day 2009

 

 

In front of the plot at Howard

 

With my line sisters (Spring 05 is the year we became Zetas!!)

Beta Nu chapter representing

The chapter during my last year as an undergrad,(sp 05,sp07,& sp08)

 

 

Beta Nu Christmas 2010

Newest additions to Beta Nu Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. (Fall 10)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

