Don’t Make New Year’s Resolutions


A new year is approaching. Matter of fact we will enter in a new decade! How amazing is that? Most people use the new year to create resolutions that they will typically not follow through with throughout the year. What’s the point?

Personally I am not a fan of New Years resolutions I think they are a fad and put too much pressure on an individual. I prefer to make some goals for the year. In my personal life I typically identify certain things I would like to do that will improve my quality of life. Through the years I’ve decided that I should road trip more, or attend more concerts, or hang out with family more. For the most part they are not done for the sake of it being a new year just monthly goals set up to keep me moving along in a positive direction. Life is more enjoyable when you make time for the things that really matter.

As January gets here a few goals that I have decided on include reading. Yes reading is fundamental. I have not read as much as I would have liked. So I decided to make a change.  I finished my December book ( I’ll have to do book review), I  have started my January book a week before schedule so I am happy. I also want to watch a few plays and visit a few museums.

Businesswise I’m leaning towards more organized infrastructure.  I am still fine tuning my business practices. Seeing what works and what doesn’t, this will be an ongoing process throughout the life of Solo Dove Public Relations. I have also decided to I need to pick my clients carefully. I must insure that they know exactly what it is that they want. For the client that I currently have I want to continue to work on the business relationship and fine tune what works and what doesn’t.  And of course new year means new contracts.

” I am a publicist FOR HIRE….not for HELP!” – @GoddessofPR

This year don’t make a resolution. Set goals that you want to accomplish. Everyday work towards what your heart tells you, succeed at that job, get that media placement, nail that interview.

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

Side Note @GoddessofPR was a celebrity publicist who suddenly passed this Christmas. I always loved her quote.  For more information read http://bemagazine.me/2010/12/29/rip-chiq-goddess-of-pr-simms/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

