Sole Proprietor vs LCC which is right for me


While having a few days off from my 9-5 it allowed me to do some much needing reading and research. I really took the time to outline somethings that I want to tackle as far as a publicist. I want to build my brand, build my clientele, build my company, make more of a profit.

Between figuring out if I wanted to be a Sole proprietor or LLC. Being a freelancer is good but its time to make the official step towards being a more official business.

Sole proprietorships. Sole proprietorships are presumed to operate under their owner’s name. If the business will operate under a different name, most jurisdictions require that a fictitious owner affidavit be filed. A fictitious owner affidavit, or a “doing business as” (DBA) filing, informs the local government and the public that the business is operating under an assumed name and indicates who the owner is. The fictitious owner affidavit usually has to be filed with the county recorder of deeds’ office rather than the secretary of state’s office.

I am leaning more towards the sole proprietorship for now as I feel it will be the best fit. In essence I am already a solo proprietor its just getting the paper work together. I’ve also been reading up on small business plans, small business resources, industry income, etc. These are some of the things that I usually just skim through during the week but during my break I was able to fully emerge myself. The state that I am in now I have two task that I need to accomplish. I have to get the business aspect of Solo Dove Public Relations together and work on becoming an even better publicist.

I’m not much of a business person, it was never really my thing so the “business part” is the part I am not to find of and that I must find a way to work out. As far as becoming a better publicist it’s all about learning and growing. It’s going to be trail by error this I know.  What I must do is continue this journey of business women and publicist.  I’m going to do what works best for me, that’s the only way to live.

Happy Flying.

~Solo Dove~

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

