From Fashion’s Night Out to New York Fashion Week 2010


Fashion Week has hit New York City and I am happy to be a part of it as a publicist. So many people have descended upon NYC that this is definitely a week to be seen and build new connections and/or rebuild the ones that you have. This time last year I was an outsider looking in trying to find out the who, what, when and where so I could go to some fashions shows, events and meet some new people.

This Fashion Week has been a reflective one for me because it really shows what difference as year can make.

For instance last year for Fashion’s Night Out in New York I was with my one of  my friends hopping across the city at the various shops. This year I was at The Wagon in Brooklyn since my client (Victoria Kennedy) was showcasing some of her designs.

This year I was able to get invited to a few fashions shows, research some shows that I wanted to get my client to cover for her site. I am still working towards the day when I can get my clients to attend and cover under the tents for the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Shows at Lincoln Center.

My calender is quite full with event. I went to the LaueLuxe Fashion show at the Gate. Loved designs what she does with metal jewlery is unique and very stylish.  I will also be attending the Jose Duran show, Stevie Boi, FSL cosmetic event, Sabit Fashion show, Triple Fat Goose and the list goes on. I think I should have moved to New York for the month of September.

There is still a lot that I want to do and need to learn this is know but I have to look and see that I have made some strides and I do have somethings to be happy and proud about.

Another thing that I’ve realized is that Fashion Week provides the great opportunity to network and meet some cool people. No matter the event if you just take a few minutes to talk up some people you can make some great friends and contact. I mean you already have one thing in common fashion.

When Fashion week is over I will have to do a recap and post some pictures. I’ll try to  before then though.

Happy Flying,

~Solo Dove~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

