Social Media Week.. is it worth it to attend


As a freelancer I don’t have the privilege of working within an agency where news and updates are available o get. So during one of many twitter conversations I received a tweet  about social media week. The name alone had me intrigued. So I went to the website (http://smwnewyork.sched.org/) and boy the schedule that they had lined up had me feeling like a kid in a candy store. Sadly I do have a full-time job so that eliminates all the day time events. (This is why I need to become a full-time publicist) But the events that I am able to make after I get off of work seem to be pretty fun and informational.  Social Media Week  allows the chance to meet other professionals and network and learn about what else “SOCIAL MEDIA”  I think from the seasoned pro to the novice there will be information that we can use to better use social media as a tool in our chosen fields.  I do like that they have various types of events  networking, party, panel, and workshop. This variety is good because you get pick your type of setting. Some people a more structured setting like a panel or workshop. While others may enjoy a party setting better.  So I am going to try to go to a few events. I think that it will be worth my while. I am going on Tues. to Media Bistro event and on Thurs OBLITERATI event. The Mon. PRSA event looks good too but I do have a previous engagement.

Now the thing is I live in New Jersey which is not that far from NYC but I am terrible with trains and driving to the city in rush hour is a nightmare and lets not forget about parking. I guess me and the train will continue our sordid love affair this week.

Happy Flying

~Solo Dove~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

